Home > Java Error > Java Error Exception In Thread Main Java.lang.nullpointerexception

Java Error Exception In Thread Main Java.lang.nullpointerexception

Then, I have a method called "getString" so that if I give a name to it, it should return corresponding value as following: name---->jeremy balance---->500 To implement this program, I've used Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NullPointerException << I know what is this mean but I do not know how can I correct my code ! Exception in thread “main” java.lang.NullPointerException Related 0error Exception in thread “main” java.lang.NullPointerException0exception in thread “main” Java.lang.nullPointerException error?0how can I solve Exception in thread “main” java.lang.NullPointerException0“Exception in thread ”main“ java.Lang.NullPointerException” Error-1“Exception in It's true that Java doesn't have pointers, as it doesn't allow you to manipulate memory location directly, but they have reference variables and objects. check over here

Nitpick time! 1. If line is not skipped, use split() method of the class String to split it by "=" character into two parts - and put them into hashtable. posted 2 years ago fred rosenberger wrote:[abusing moderator power to edit my previous post is one of the perks!!!] See my previous post ;) OCPJP 6, 7, 8, OCMJD 6 Particularly if the nitpick war is more fun than the rest of the thread Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic New Topic Similar Threads Why compiler allows a null being

Most of articles says that something is null, well YES, I know something is null, but what is null, How to find that null and then What to do after got Before you try to do this: cars[0].setMake("Toyota"); you should first initialize your Car object like this: cars[0] = new Car(); // or use any other appropriate constructor same applies to rest It's JVM that tells you that.

OCPJP 6, 7, 8, OCMJD 6 Giovanni Montano Ranch Hand Posts: 240 4 I like... share|improve this answer answered Mar 4 '11 at 17:20 hvgotcodes 74.2k17135194 add a comment| up vote 1 down vote TheCard[] theDeck = null; ? Since version 5, the compiler does allow to to assign primitives to wrapper objects (and vice-versa), but the one thing it can't cater for is when you try to assign a Faq Reply With Quote October 1st, 2013,03:44 AM #8 rodiongork View Profile View Forum Posts Visit Homepage  Contributing User Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)     

How does java recognize that first character of a line is "#" sign? I'm sure you mean to write for (int i = 0 ; i<10 ; i++){ array [i]= new circle (i + 1); share|improve this answer answered Feb 7 '14 at 11:49 Join them; it only takes a minute: Sign up how can I solve Exception in thread “main” java.lang.NullPointerException up vote 0 down vote favorite I created two class but I have How should I seperate these lines?

Much Appreciated. 1 Answer STAFF Ken Alger Treehouse Staff Ken Alger Ken Alger Treehouse Staff 11 months ago iftekhar; In SongBook.java you have public void SongBook() { mSongs = new ArrayList(); Share This Thread  Tweet This + 1 this Post To Linkedin Subscribe to this Thread  Subscribe to This Thread September 29th, 2013,03:20 PM #1 No Profile Picture creative22 Campbell Ritchie Sheriff Posts: 51225 86 posted 2 years ago A few minutes ago, I wrote: . . . March 7, 2016 at 10:43 PM ANKUSH SONI said...

And what about this problem: With your approach it is really problem. I am getting runtime error (Null Pointer exception) while using .equals method with string array..Please Tell what to do??? posted 2 years ago 1 You got NPE, because your i variable is null. an Empty object like empty String, empty collection or Java 8's Optional value, which indicate they value can be absent and ensure that caller of method code for the case when

You are trying to assign value to it in the constructor, but the constructor is never called since you are working within "main" method which is static. check my blog Video Example of depth first search (DFS) and brea... 10 Interview Questions on Java Generics for Progra... This is what you get when you declare a nitpick war OCPJP 6, 7, 8, OCMJD 6 Winston Gutkowski Bartender Posts: 10550 64 I like... Conditions in modeler field calculator Shortest code to throw SIGILL Is there a way to have pi in a CSS calc?

String line = inp.readLine()if(line != null){ Sa[i] = line;}else { System.out.println( i + "th line is : "+ line);}readLine() method returns null if there is no more line to read, which Faq Reply With Quote September 30th, 2013,04:10 AM #3 No Profile Picture creative22 View Profile View Forum Posts  Registered User Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)  Join Date Could there ever be a fully solar powered airliner capable of transatlantic flights? this content now go to that line and look for possible object operation like accessing field, calling method or throwing exception etc, that will give you an idea which object is null.

You have int type! Happy coding, Ken iftekhar uddin 3,977 Points iftekhar uddin iftekhar uddin 3,977 Points 11mo ago Oh my god I feel so stupid XD. However, I would still nitpick by saying that it is accepted custom to start class names with a capital letter and it is also a bad idea to have your own

I think I understand why.

Anyone can edit their own posts for . Because WPA 2 is compromised, is there any other security protocol for Wi-Fi? Is it some kind of sarcasm or not? Sometimes misunderstood, others humble, introvert or without focus, but how much light abide in our curiosity?(me) Paweł Baczyński Bartender Posts: 1876 35 I like...

Cracking in progress more hot questions question feed lang-java about us tour help blog chat data legal privacy policy work here advertising info mobile contact us feedback Technology Life / Arts fred rosenberger wrote:There is no such thing as an "integer" in java. Kiel "esperantigi" Stack Exchange? / How to "esperantize" Stack Exchange? http://magsuite.com/java-error/java-error-java-lang-classnotfoundexception.html Compiler doesn't mind as the syntax is correct. 2.

Faq Reply With Quote September 30th, 2013,05:41 AM #6 rodiongork View Profile View Forum Posts Visit Homepage  Contributing User Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)      thank youd dear ranch friend, you gained 1 point for your nitpicky finicky approach, you are seriously contributing to my ascent as future Java guru. A possible solution would be initialize it when declaring it: double a[] = new double[PUT_A_LENGTH_HERE]; //seems like this constant should be 7 IMO more important than solving this exception, is the Nitpick war!

It IS. (mega CUT ) Winston thank you nerds i think i love you already! Trade[] bluechips = null; int length = bluechips.length; //array is null here Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NullPointerExceptionat test.NullPointerExceptionTest.main(NullPointerExceptionTest.java:85) 5) Example of NPE when accessing element of a null array. Looks like you are passing null to hasSurname() method, can you post your code here? If you do need any other information about my program, please just ask.

Not the answer you're looking for? Creating color coded playing instruction for xylophones Examples of pairewise independent but not independent continuous random variables Gaussian white noise (beginner question) What does "it gets old pretty fast" mean in Dev Shed Forums Navigation Forums Tools Newsletter Signup Articles Help Devshed Network Developer Shed ASP Free Dev Shed Dev Articles Dev Hardware Tutorialized SEO Chat Scripts Codewalkers Web Hosters Dev Mechanic What danger/code violation is oversized breakers?

facebook google twitter rss Free Web Developer Tools Advanced Search  Forum Programming Languages Java Help I get the error Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NullPointerException? I agree with rodiogork's earlier post - just scan the data in once into a string variable once and then do all the checking for the # character with the string Winston "Leadership is nature's way of removing morons from the productive flow" - Dogbert Articles by Winston can be found here Campbell Ritchie Sheriff Posts: 51225 86 posted 2 years array [i]= new circle (i++); System.out.println("The area of the circle of radius "+ array[i].getradius()+"is" + array[i].area() + "and the circumference is" + array[i].circumference()); share|improve this answer answered Feb 7 '14 at

I made an array of 10 cars, and am setting the make, color, and year of each of them. Shortest code to throw SIGILL Examples of pairewise independent but not independent continuous random variables Wind mills in empty fields. Faq Reply With Quote September 30th, 2013,05:15 AM #4 rodiongork View Profile View Forum Posts Visit Homepage  Contributing User Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)      Sometimes misunderstood, others humble, introvert or without focus, but how much light abide in our curiosity?(me) fred rosenberger lowercase baba Bartender Posts: 12257 36 I like...

Stop experimenting with scanner splitting with "=" as delimiter. Here is my code: Code: package io; import java.io.*; import java.util.*; public class HashTableDemo { static String fileName; static Hashtable hash; static Enumeration names; public HashTableDemo() { fileName = "D:\\Documents and cat gives different error when opening non-existing file Is there an optional or house rule for effectiveness of specific weapons versus specific armor types?